As detailed in our blog post on TLS 1.0 and 1.1 deprecation, we are removing support for very old, insecure browsers on myhrtoolkit to ensure high standards of data security for our customers.

From 15th December 2020, people using insecure browsers will be blocked from accessing myhrtoolkit.

How do I know if I am using an insecure browser?

Since 2018, anyone logging into myhrtoolkit with an insecure browser will have seen this message at the login page:

Myhrtoolkit outdated browser warning message

We have also added an extra notification that remains on-screen for the duration of your myhrtoolkit session. This message looks like this:

Insecure browser warning banner on myhrtoolkit

If you’ve never seen either of these messages, then you’re using a modern browser and no action is needed.

If you do see this message, then before 15th December 2020, you must update to a modern browser, such as Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Mozilla Firefox, or Apple’s Safari.

If you are still using an insecure browser from the 15th December, you will not be able to access myhrtoolkit. Any attempt to access the site will result in a notice like this:

Secure connection failed message

Until you use a modern browser, you will not be able to access myhrtoolkit.

How do I know if my employees are using insecure browsers?

Controllers have access to our “Insecure browser connections” report. This is shown on the bottom left panel in the Security Centre.

This report shows a list of every time one of your users logged in with an insecure browser.

Insecure browser connections report on myhrtoolkit

If the report is empty, then no action is needed.

You should ensure that any user listed in the report is aware they need to update their browser before 15th December.

What if a user cannot update their browser?

From the 15th December, they will be unable to access myhrtoolkit. Any user with an insecure browser will see a “no access” message and be unable to proceed further.

To ensure the safety and security of your data, we are unable to relax these restrictions for individual users or customers.